07 May 2021

Our Retired Faculty Member Prof. Dr. Doğan Kuban Received Jean Tschumi Architectural Writing Award

Istanbul Technical University Faculty of Architecture retired faculty member Prof. Dr. Doğan Kuban received Jean Tschumi Architectural Writing Award given as part of the International Union of Architects (UIA) 2021 Gold Medal and Prizes.

News: İTÜ Media and Communication Office

The jury of the International Union of Architects (UIA) 2021 Gold Medal and Prizes gave 2021 UIA Jean Tschumi Architectural Writing Award to Prof. Dr. Doğan Kuban nominated by the Chamber of Architects of Turkey.

In its report, the jury described Prof. Dr. Doğan Kuban as “The Prize was attributed to Turkish architectural historian and conservation expert Doğan Kuban, a “quiet giant” in the field of architectural scholarship, preservation and restoration. His work has concentrated on the rich architectural heritage of Istanbul, Kazakhstan, and Turkmenistan. Over the course of a lifetime, Kuban has produced more than 70 works bringing the grandeur and complexity of Turkish, Islamic, and Anatolian architecture to the world, creating an invaluable resource and inspiration to future scholars and architects.”

2021 UIA World Congress of Architects and Award Ceremony planned to be held at Rio de Janeiro, Brazil will be held online this year due to the pandemic.

As Istanbul Technical University, we congratulate ITU graduate and the Founding Chair of  Faculty of Architecture Architectural History and Restoration Programs and Department of Restoration, professor and former dean of Faculty of Architecture Prof. Dr. Doğan Kuban, who made us proud at his age of 95.


International Union of Architects (UIA) 2021 Gold Medal and Prizes                

Created in 1984, the UIA Awards recognize outstanding architectural achievement by an architect or group of architects, taking into account all aspects of a body of work constructed over an extended period. Besides the Gold Medal, the following 5 prizes are also awarded: “Patrick Abercrombie Prize for Urban Planning and Design”, “Auguste Perret Prize for Technology”, “Jean Tschumi Award for Architectural Writing”, “Robert Matthew Prize for Sustainable and Humane Environments”, “Vassilis Sgoutas Prize for Implemented Architecture Serving the Impoverished”. Past winners include Toyo Ito, Renzo Piano, I.M. Pei, Àlvaro Siza Vieira, Hassan Fathy, and Rafael Moneo.

İTÜ Ayazağa Campus

Rektörlük Binası Maslak-Sarıyer / İstanbul

İTÜ Ayazağa Campus Phone

0212 285 30 30 (40 Hat)

İTÜ Ayazağa Campus Fax

0212 285 29 10