25 Dec 2020

Award from Turkish Academy of Sciences to Our Faculty Members’ Scientific Studies in Antarctica

“TÜBA Awards” consisting of Turkish Academy of Sciences (TÜBA) International Academy Awards, TÜBA-GEBİP (Outstanding Young Scientist) and TÜBA-TESEP (Authored Scientific Book) organized under the auspices of the Presidency of the Republic of Turkey have been announced.

News: İTÜ Media and Communication Office

Our faculty members Assoc. Prof. Dr. Burcu Özsoy and Prof. Dr. Cengiz Yıldırım, who frequently receive mentionfor their scientific and academic studies at the national and international level, were deemed worthy for Turkish Academy of Sciences 2020 Outstanding Young Scientist Award (TÜBA-GEBİP).

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Burcu Özsoy, who is the coordinator of the Turkish Scientific Base project in Antarctica and additionally the national leader for the polar science program strategy, and Prof. Dr. Cengiz Yıldırım, who has scientific articles about Antarctica published in international refereed journals, won the “TÜBA-GEBİP Polar Studies Award” within the framework of “Antarctica Research and Scientific Base Project”, which was determined as a strategic and national priority field by the Council this year.

Alongside our faculty members, Yildiz Technical University faculty member  Prof. Dr. Didem Özçimen (Bioengineering) and Erciyes University faculty member Prof. Dr. Mehmet Gökhan Halıcı (Biology/Botany) became the other researchers who were deemed worthy for the prizewithin the scope of polar studies.

2020 TÜBA International Academy, GEBİP and TESEP awards which hold a special and respectable place in the scientific world will be given with a ceremony to be organized under the auspices of the Presidency of the Republic of Turkey this year as well. 

İTÜ Ayazağa Campus

Rektörlük Binası Maslak-Sarıyer / İstanbul

İTÜ Ayazağa Campus Phone

0212 285 30 30 (40 Hat)

İTÜ Ayazağa Campus Fax

0212 285 29 10